Turbo Pascal


Turbo Pascal is a theatre collective made up of Veit Merkle, Frank Oberhäußer, Luis Pfeiffer, Eva Plischke and Angela Löer, who collectively work as writers and performers to develop their projects. Turbo Pascal was founded in 2004 while its members were doing Applied Theatrical Studies at Hildesheim University, and they have been active in Berlin since 2008. It was here that they were joined by the stage designer Magda Willi and the production director Anne Schulz. The theatre as a meeting place: Turbo Pascal is interested in how people today organize how they live together. For example as a democratic society in “Wir werden wieder wer gewesen sein” (2008), as an emergency community in dealing with worst case scenarios in “Ich bin nicht wirklich die Gefahr“ (2009), in the confrontation between minority and majority society in “PC-Raum 2” (X-Schulen, 2010) and “Publikumsbeschwörung” (2011) or in reflecting on current couple relationships in “Zwei – eine Ritualschlacht” (2011). Alongside their stage productions, Turbo Pascal works with discussion formats (“Gesellige Runde” 2008/09). As an artists group, Turbo Pascal has moderated citizen meetings and discussion forums at the Friedrich Ebert Foundation and at the transeuropa festival in Hildesheim. Then there are interventions in public space. In Berlin, Turbo Pascal has worked at the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, at HAU Hebbel am Ufer and at the Sophiensaele. The production “Wir werden wieder wer gewesen sein“ won the jury prize in 2009 at the 100° Berlin festival at HAU Hebbel am Ufer. The play “Ich bin nicht wirklich die Gefahr” was created in the context of the Freischwimmer Festival at the Sophiensaele and toured to Gessnerallee in Zurich, the Forum Freies Theater in Düsseldorf, brut in Vienna, Kampnagel in Hamburg and was invited to the festival “Politik im freien Theater” in Dresden in 2011. Currently, Turbo Pascal in involved for two years at the Stadttheater Freiburg in the framework of the DOPPELPASS Theatre Cooperation Fund of the German Federal Cultural Foundation.