Elina Pirinen

Personal Symphonic Moment

DanceTanz im August

Audience engagement formats for  "Personal Symphonic Moment"
Dance Circle mit Susan Leigh Foster: 13.08. | after the performance | HAU3
Meet the Artist: 14.08. | after the performance | HAU3

Elina Pirinen calls her Personal Symphonic Moment an ‘autopsy’ of Shostakovich’s Leningrad Symphony: a simultaneously exact and distorted, creative and destructive, faithful and unfaithful approach to the symphonic work. Shostakovich’s Symphony no. 7 is heard in its full length: declared in 1942 to be a contribution to the fight against fascism, and equally intended to be understood in its musical structure as criticism of all tyranny, including Soviet dictatorship, it overwhelms listeners in its dramatic intensity. Side by side Pirinen and her group play corporally, textually and visually with the poltics, form and parameters of the music. Three dancers are moving with grotesque comedy through the inhospitable gloom of the stage creating impetuous and bizarre expressionist dance. Three weird graces  are creating primitive and intellectual symphonic elements of peace, exaggeration, comfort, arousal, imbecility, subservience, eroticism, shame, pity, danger and sentimentality, as stated in Pirinen’s concept. Watch out for the high art and celebration of looserness! one is inclined to call. In 2014 Elina Pirinen was awarded the Critics Spurs, the annual honorary prize of the Finnish Association of Critics, for Personal Symphonic Moment and other work. The Finnish choreographer’s work is being seen in Berlin for the first time.

Duration: 70min

Production: Zodiak – Center for New Dance, Moving in November Festival, Elina Pirinen

Zodiak residency in collaboration with: WorkspaceBrussels / Summer coaching residency, Kone Foundation, Finnish Cultural Institute for the Benelux
. Supported by: Samuel Huberin Taidesäätiö, The Finnish Cultural Foundation, Kone Foundation. Presented in the context of [DNA] Departures and Arrivals with support by Culture Programme of the European Union.

Date of premiere: 7.11.2013



Concept, choreography, visual concept: Elina Pirinen / Dance: Kati Korosuo, Katja Sallinen, Elina Pirinen / Lighting design: Heikki Paasonen based on the original design of Tomi Humalisto / Texts: Heidi Väätänen / Sound design: Pauli Riikonen / Music: Dmitri Shostakovich, Symphony No. 7 / Costume design: Elina Pirinen, Kaisa Rissanen, Mila Moisio


  • Past
    Thu 13.8.2015, 21:00 / HAU3
    Fri 14.8.2015, 21:00 / HAU3
    Sat 15.8.2015, 21:00 / HAU3


Tempelhofer Ufer 10, 10963 Berlin

HAU3 unfortunately is not barrier-free. Access to the theatre is via a stairwell (3rd floor). The use of a lift is possible with prior arrangement. If you need help, please contact our Ticketing & Service team at +49 (0)30 259004-27 or email us at Wheelchair users are also kindly requested to register their attendance at least one day before the performance.
Thank you for your understanding.

HAU3000 / Positions, Projects, Publications

The Glowing Room

Text by Hendrik Otremba.

An Introduction to “Collectivize Facebook”

By Jonas Staal

“Collectivize Facebook” is a lawsuit aimed to turn Facebook into public property, initiated by artist Jonas Staal and lawyer Jan Fermon. Read here Staal’s introduction to the project.

“Manifestos for Queer Futures”

Video Documentation

As part of the festival “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures”, HAU initiated an open call for artists based in Berlin, who were invited to submit proposals for their Manifestos for Queer Futures.