Iztok Kovač/EN-KNAP (SI)

OTTETTO (8 Swings for His Highness)

Tanz im August

Igor Stravinsky described his 1923 composition "Octet" as "dry, cold and transparent, like an ‘extra dry’ champagne". Conceived in purely formalistic terms and devoid of any narrative content, the sonata is scored for an unusual combination of brass and woodwind. Employing purportedly traditional technical means of baroque and classical music, it was received with dismay and generally considered a bad joke, especially since it failed to fulfil expectations of Russian wildness after "Le Sacre de printemps". For all its formal virtuosity the work was deemed to be mannered. From the contemporary perspective "Octet" heralds the beginning of a new era, that of neo-classicism, in music; some experts even discern in the score an affinity with the Roaring Twenties and with jazz. The Slovenian choreographer Iztok Kovač and the EnKnapGroup investigate this pioneering composition from the perspectives of the participating artists: five dancers, eight musicians, one conductor and three visual artists each find their own approach to Stravinsky’s composition. The dancers’ movements, for instance, are based on an analysis of the voice of the individual instruments. Stressing the abstract nature of Stravinsky’s composition, they alter it at the same time. Subjugated to the stringent rhythm of the metronome, the choreography makes "Octet", originally composed for concert performance, seem like music for the stage. Iztok Kovač and EN-KNAP, together in 'OTTETTO,' present a playful visualization of a musical oddity from the 20th century which combines dance, music, light, and scenery.

Concept, choreography Iztok Kovač
Created and performed by EN-KNAP Group - Luke Thomas Dunne, Ida Hellsten, Bence Mezei, Ana Štefanec, Tamás Tuza
Music Igor Stravinsky, "Oktett", 1923
Compositional Additions Gregor Pompe
Conductor Živa Ploj Peršuh

Musicians Kaja Lešnjak, Matic Kuder, Arpad Balasz Piri, Miha Petkovšek, Blaž Avbar, Leon Pokeržnik, Mihael Šuler, David Kajic
Visuals Komposter

Light Design Jaka Šimenc

Set Design Jaka Šimenc, Komposter, Iztok Kovač

Costume Valter Kobal

Musical Consultant Gregor Pompe
Composition Allegro con moto Komposter Narration  Nada Vodušek, Faris Endris Rahoma
Production EN-KNAP Productions Partner Društvo ustvarjalcev sodobne slovenske kulture (Delavnica) 
Supported by City of Ljubljana -Department of Culture, and Ministry of Culture.
Funded by Kulturförderung Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg
Coproduction Tanz im August

Duration: 60 minutes    


Concept, choreography: Iztok Kovač


  • Past
    Wed 21.8.2013, 19:30 / HAU1
    Thu 22.8.2013, 19:30 / HAU1


Stresemannstr. 29, 10963 Berlin

There are two marked parking spots in front of the building. Access to the Parkett by means of a separate entrance with lift when necessary. Barrier-free restroom facilities are available. Wheelchair users are kindly requested to register their attendance at least one day before the performance. Thank you for your understanding. If you need help, please contact our Ticketing & Service team at +49 (0)30 259004-27 or send us an email to

HAU3000 / Positions, Projects, Publications

The Glowing Room

Text by Hendrik Otremba.

An Introduction to “Collectivize Facebook”

By Jonas Staal

“Collectivize Facebook” is a lawsuit aimed to turn Facebook into public property, initiated by artist Jonas Staal and lawyer Jan Fermon. Read here Staal’s introduction to the project.

“Manifestos for Queer Futures”

Video Documentation

As part of the festival “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures”, HAU initiated an open call for artists based in Berlin, who were invited to submit proposals for their Manifestos for Queer Futures.