Ragnar Kjartansson & Alterazioni Video

Symphony No.2


As part of the supporting programme of the exhibition "And Away with the Minutes. Dieter Roth and Music" at the Hamburger Bahnhof, the Icelandic artist Ragnar Kjartansson is presenting the world premiere of "Symphony No. 2" in collaboration with the Italian artists’ collective Alterazioni Video. The performance is based on the traditional structure of a symphony, whose four movements are performed on stage by members of Alterazioni Video making use of a variety of props. Four different video clips of Ragnar Kjartansson, showing on a TV monitor, determine the length of the individual movements. Each movement is based on visual and acoustic actions repeated in a “loop” by the actors. A documentation of the performance will be on show in the exhibition following the event.

A project by Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin in cooperation with Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V and HAU Hebbel am Ufer.


With: Ragnar Kjartansson / Alterazioni Video / (Giacomo Porfiri, Alberto Caffarelli, Andrea Masu, Paololuca Barbieri, Arto Ushan) / Technical Advice: Bodo Gottschalk / Sound: Karsten Höfer / Video: Nicola Pellgerini, Lorenzo Villa, Max Valenti / Photography: Guido Gazzilli


  • Past
    Sat 2.5.2015, 20:00 / HAU2
    Sun 3.5.2015, 17:00 / HAU2


Hallesches Ufer 34, 10963 Berlin

Wheelchair users are kindly requested to register their attendance at least one day before the performance. Thank you for your understanding. If you need help, please contact our Ticketing & Service team at +49 (0)30 259004-27 or send us an email to

HAU3000 / Positions, Projects, Publications

The Glowing Room

Text by Hendrik Otremba.

An Introduction to “Collectivize Facebook”

By Jonas Staal

“Collectivize Facebook” is a lawsuit aimed to turn Facebook into public property, initiated by artist Jonas Staal and lawyer Jan Fermon. Read here Staal’s introduction to the project.

“Manifestos for Queer Futures”

Video Documentation

As part of the festival “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures”, HAU initiated an open call for artists based in Berlin, who were invited to submit proposals for their Manifestos for Queer Futures.