Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods & Münchner Kammerspiele


Tanz im August

How close can we get to one another? Meg Stuart has been dealing with this question now for over two decades. “UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP“ is also focused on the search for intimacy, that fleeting form of togetherness that provides such a thrill while it lasts. Six performers constitute a temporary collective that cooperates in a challenging and playful way, constructing their own, fantastic set of rules; indulging in yoga exercises or acrobatics, performing magic tricks and rituals, staging battles and experimenting

with skin-on-skin contact beyond the usual inhibitions. It is not so much the themes or the sequence of absurd, tender, aggressive or ecstatic scenes which unites “UNTIL OUR HEARTS STOP“ as a performance: it is more the rhythm – the ebb and flow, acceleration and stasis – that creates a collective space of desire and illusion. The space is initiated and amplified by the vortex-like, unbridled sound of the music trio Samuel Halscheidt (bass), Marc Lohr (drums) and Stefan Rusconi (piano/trumpet). “UNTIL OUR

HEARTS STOP“ is a performative experimental set-up in which the experience of physical limits can explode mental barriers: naked, two people are separated by theirskin, but through play, they become one experimenting, sensuous organism.

The performance is dedicated to Paul Lemp, friend and musician of Meg Stuart/Damaged Goods.

Production Damaged Goods & Münchner Kammerspiele
Coproduction PACT Zollverein, Ruhrtriennale – Festival der Künste

Special thanks to Klara Luhmen, Peter Pleyer, Dasniya Sommer, Tami Tamaki, Aurore Werniers  and Uferstudios (Berlin)

Meg Stuart & Damaged Goods  are supported by the  Government of Flanders and the  Flemish Community Commission.

Duration 120 minutes


Choreografie: Meg Stuart / Entwickelt und performed von: Neil Callaghan, Jared Gradinger, Leyla Postalcioglu, Maria F. Scaroni, Claire Vivianne Sobottke, Kristof Van Boven / Dramaturgie: Jeroen Versteele / Livemusik: Samuel Halscheidt , Marc Lohr , Stefan Rusconi / Originalmusik kreiert von: Paul Lemp , Marc Lohr , Stefan Rusconi / Bühnenbild: Doris Dziersk / Kostüm: Nadine Grellinger / Lichtdesign: Jurgen Kolb, Gilles Roosen / Assistenz Choreografie: Francisco Camacho / Assistenz Bühnenbild: Giulia Paolucci / Assistenz Kostüme: Davy van Gerven / Künstlerische Assistenz: Igor Dobricic / Technische Leitung: Oliver Houttekiet / Bühnenleitung: Jitske Vandenbussche / Soundtechnik: Richard König / Licht: Gilles Roosen / Bühnentechnik: Bart Van Bellegem / Garderobe: Patty Eggerickx / Emma Zune / Tourmanagement: Annabel Heyse / Produktionsmanagement: Sabrina Schmidt


  • Past
    Thu 1.9.2016, 18:00 / HAU2
    Sat 3.9.2016, 19:00 / Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz
    Sun 4.9.2016, 17:00 / Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz


Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz
Linienstr. 227, 10178 Berlin

You can reach the lower foyer and the main stage of the Volksbühne without any barriers via the main entrance of the theatre. For structural reasons, the (upper) Sternfoyer and the performance venues Roter/Grüner Salon, the 3rd floor and Probebühne are not barrier-free. The Volksbühne has wheelchair seating in the main hall only.

Hallesches Ufer 34, 10963 Berlin

Wheelchair users are kindly requested to register their attendance at least one day before the performance. Thank you for your understanding. If you need help, please contact our Ticketing & Service team at +49 (0)30 259004-27 or send us an email to

HAU3000 / Positions, Projects, Publications

The Glowing Room

Text by Hendrik Otremba.

An Introduction to “Collectivize Facebook”

By Jonas Staal

“Collectivize Facebook” is a lawsuit aimed to turn Facebook into public property, initiated by artist Jonas Staal and lawyer Jan Fermon. Read here Staal’s introduction to the project.

“Manifestos for Queer Futures”

Video Documentation

As part of the festival “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures”, HAU initiated an open call for artists based in Berlin, who were invited to submit proposals for their Manifestos for Queer Futures.