Programme

Jeremy Wade: Technologies for Impossible Repair

22.–24.10. / HAU1, HAU4

Excess and hyper vulnerability – Jeremy Wade has made a name for himself internationally with his disturbing and thought-provoking performances, and socio-cultural platforms. “Technologies of Impossible Repair” explores his works in two different formats

On the stage of HAU1 we can see again his last work (premiered in 2019) “The Clearing”, a solo performance of science fiction in three acts (premiered in 2019), with live music from Marc Lohr and Quentin Tolimeri. This hallucinogenic and flamboyant piece dismantles reality, evokes solidarity and attempts to address the social structures that are making us sick.

On HAU4 we present a new video work named “Oh Lovely Appearance of Death that reanimates Wade’s artistic archive through his ongoing exploration of ecstasy, untenable loss, queerness, the lived experiences of depression/exhaustion and the call for an urgent ethics of care.  

Dates

Supported within the framework of the Alliance of International Production Houses by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

Spielplan

Jeremy Wade: Technologies for Impossible Repair

22.–24.10. / HAU1, HAU4

Exzess und Hyperverletzlichkeit: Jeremy Wade hat sich international mit seinen verstörenden und anregenden Performances und soziokulturellen Plattformen einen Namen gemacht. “Technologies of Impossible Repair” präsentiert sein Schaffen auf dreierlei Weise:

Auf der Bühne des HAU1 ist noch einmal sein jüngstes Stück “The Clearing” (2019) zu sehen, eine Science-Fiction-Soloperformance in drei Akten zur Livemusik von Marc Lohr und Quentin Tolimeri. Die halluzinogene und extravagante Inszenierung demontiert die Realität, ruft zur Solidarität auf und widmet sich den sozialen Strukturen, die uns krank machen.

Auf HAU3000 wird unter dem Titel “Technologies of Impossible Repair” eine Textsammlung zu den Inhalten von Wades Arbeit verfügbar sein. Die Texte erläutern den Kontext der Praktiken, Figuren und Strategien, die Wade in seinem beharrlichen sozialkritischen Schaffen entwickelt hat.

Auf HAU4 wird eine neue Videoarbeit mit dem Titel “Oh Lovely Appearance of Death präsentiert. Sie haucht Wades künstlerischem Archiv neues Leben ein, indem sie seine anhaltende Beschäftigung mit Ekstase, unerträglichem Verlust, Queerness und der gelebten Erfahrung von Depression/Erschöpfung aufgreift und eine unabdingbare Ethik der Fürsorge fordert.

Termine