Programme

Rimini Protokoll (Begrich/Haug/Karrenbauer)

DO’s & DON’Ts – a journey through every trick in the city

Start and end at HAU1 / Limited capacity

Theatre

German / With English translation / ca. 120 min

The city represents a giant laboratory in which to observe everyday human behaviour, and there are rules in this lab. There are do’s and don’ts. The Berlin group Rimini Protokoll is coming back to HAU with a premiere, having the truck from their popular production “Cargo X” drive through the city once again in new garb. The audience sits in a remodelled truck, which functions as a mobile auditorium, gazing out at the city through a large window. On this trip the system of our urban order is carefully examined: laws, rules, norms, rituals, explicit and implicit arrangements, visible and invisible codes. Next to the driver sits a child, who directs this urban laboratory experiment: Not playful, not cute, the child applies what has been learned, but with the great clarity, severity and consistency of a game, which has to be played to its end according to the rules that have been set.                                        

After the performance on 4 May: Artist Talk with Rimini Protokoll and Stefan Höhne.

 

Important information:
Space in the vehicle is limited. Please do not carry any large luggage and or wear a heavy set of clothes. Starting & end point: HAU1
Duration of event: ca. 2 hours. Late admission is not possible. The event is not accessible for wheelchair users.

Cast

Concept, Text & Direction: Helgard Haug, Rimini Protokoll / Jörg Karrenbauer / Concept & Dramaturgy: Aljoscha Begrich / Composition: Barbara Morgenstern / Video director: Mischa Leinkauf / Sound design: Frank Böhle / Assistant direction & research: Meret Kiderlen / Production management: Juliane Männel / Collaboration: Lisa Homburger / With: Dido Antonia Aquilanti, Rudolf Bühne, Jasper Penz und dem Chor des Rosa-Luxemburg-Gymnasiums Berlin unter der Leitung von Christoph Rosiny

Dates

  • Past
    Premiere
    Thu 3.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Fri 4.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Sat 5.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Mon 7.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Tue 8.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Wed 9.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Fri 11.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Sat 12.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Mon 14.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Tue 15.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Wed 16.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Thu 17.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Tue 22.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Wed 23.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Fri 25.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Sat 26.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Mon 28.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Tue 29.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1
    Wed 30.5.2018, 17:30 / HAU1

Credits

Production: Rimini Apparat. Coproduction: HAU Hebbel am Ufer, Goethe-Institut / Performing Architecture Venice, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt, PACT Zollverein, Stadt Nürnberg/Bewerbungsbüro Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2025, Internationales Sommerfestival Kampnagel and National Theatre of Scotland. Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

Location

HAU1
Stresemannstr. 29, 10963 Berlin

There are two marked parking spots in front of the building. Access to the Parkett by means of a separate entrance with lift when necessary. Barrier-free restroom facilities are available. Advance notification advised.