Rosas & Ictus

Vortex Temporum

Tanz im August

The eddies and whirls of nature are as timeless and stately as the title. Belgian choreographer Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker is one of the greats of contemporary European dance, a master of abstract form. In 34 years of creative work her exploration of 20th-century and contemporary music has become increasingly powerful.


In Vortex Temporum seven dancers from De Keersmaeker’s company Rosas and six musicians from the new-music ensemble Ictus perform alongside and with one another on an equal footing. The French composer Gérard Grisey completed his intense and colourful chamber piece Vortex Temporum two years before his death in 1998. As if making a legacy, he describes the circling of an invisible axis of space and time. The 60-minute dance takes up this motif, becoming a part of the music. At the end, when the minute hand of the clock has returned to its starting point, the music itself has become dance.


Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker studied dance with Maurice Béjart in Brussels and the Tisch School of Arts in NYC. In 1983 she founded her company Rosas, which was company in residence at De Munt/La Monnaie from 1992 till 2007. Since 1995 De Keersmaeker has been the director of the Brussels dance institution P.A.R.T.S., from which countless new talents have emerged.
Video trailer: Interview Anne Teresa de Keersmaeker:

 Co-production: De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussels), Ruhrtriennale, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris), Sadler’s Wells (London), Opéra de Lille, ImpulsTanz (Vienna), Holland Festival (Amsterdam), Concertgebouw Brugge (Brugge) Magazin im August article


Choreography: Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Created with and danced by: Boštjan Antončič, Carlos Garbin, Marie Goudot, Cynthia Loemij, Julien Monty, Michael Pomero, Igor Shyshko / Created with: Chrysa Parkinson / Music: Vortex Temporum, Gérard Grisey (1996) / Music director: Georges-Elie Octors / Musical director: Georges-Elie Octors / Matthew Coorey / Musicians: Ictus / Piano: Jean-Luc Plouvier / Flute: Michael Schmid / Clarinet: Dirk Descheemaeker / Violin: Igor Semenoff / Viola: Jeroen Robbrecht / Cello: Geert De Bièvre / Light design: Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Luc Schaltin / Artistic advisor light: Michel François / Costumes: Anne-Catherine Kunz / Musical dramaturgy: Bojana Cvejić / Production: Rosas


  • Past
    Sat 23.8.2014, 20:00 / Haus der Berliner Festspiele
    Sun 24.8.2014, 16:00 / Haus der Berliner Festspiele
    Sun 24.8.2014, 17:30 / Haus der Berliner Festspiele


Haus der Berliner Festspiele
Schaperstr. 24, 10719 Berlin

The Haus der Berliner Festspiele in Schaperstraße 24 has wheelchair access without steps to the foyer and to the auditorium on the ground floor. A wheelchair accessible lift is available for the upper foyers. This lift is equipped with tactile lettering. There is a WC on the ground floor for persons with restricted mobility.

HAU3000 / Positions, Projects, Publications

The Glowing Room

Text by Hendrik Otremba.

An Introduction to “Collectivize Facebook”

By Jonas Staal

“Collectivize Facebook” is a lawsuit aimed to turn Facebook into public property, initiated by artist Jonas Staal and lawyer Jan Fermon. Read here Staal’s introduction to the project.

“Manifestos for Queer Futures”

Video Documentation

As part of the festival “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures”, HAU initiated an open call for artists based in Berlin, who were invited to submit proposals for their Manifestos for Queer Futures.