Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Jean-Guihen Queyras / Rosas

Mitten wir im Leben sind / Bach6Cellosuiten


approx. 120 min.

Johann Sebastian Bach’s Cello Suites are considered a milestone in the history of Western music. The intellectual and architectural elements continue to evoke contemporary appeal, with their rhythmic vitality and melodic intricacy. Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s affinity with Bach was already apparent in several previous creations, and she continues to pursue a choreographic writing that captures the essence of the composer’s musical language. In this production, Bach’s score, performed live in its totality by the world-renowned cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras, is faceted, challenged and performed through a choreography for five dancers, including De Keersmaeker herself. Both the individual character of the six suites and their mutual interconnections emerge from this riveting symbiosis of music and dance.


Choreography: Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker / Cello: Jean-Guihen Queyras / Created with and danced by: Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Boštjan Antončič, Marie Goudot, Julien Monty, Michaёl Pomero / Music: Johann Sebastian Bach 6 Cello Suiten, BWV 1007 bis 1012 / Costume: An D’Huys / Lighting Design: Luc Schaltin / World Premiere: 26. August 2017, Ruhrtriennale


  • Past
    Sat 9.12.2017, 20:00 / HAU1
    Sun 10.12.2017, 17:00 / HAU1
    Mon 11.12.2017, 20:00 / HAU1
    Tue 12.12.2017, 20:00 / HAU1
    Wed 13.12.2017, 20:00 / HAU1


Production: Rosas. Coproduction: Ruhrtriennale, De Munt / La Monnaie (Brussels), Concertgebouw Brugge, Le Théâtre de la Ville avec le Festival d’Automne à Paris, Sadler’s Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Opéra de Lille, Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele, Elbphilharmonie (Hamburg), Montpellier Danse 2018.


Stresemannstr. 29, 10963 Berlin

There are two marked parking spots in front of the building. Access to the Parkett by means of a separate entrance with lift when necessary. Barrier-free restroom facilities are available. Wheelchair users are kindly requested to register their attendance at least one day before the performance. Thank you for your understanding. If you need help, please contact our Ticketing & Service team at +49 (0)30 259004-27 or send us an email to

HAU3000 / Positions, Projects, Publications

The Glowing Room

Text by Hendrik Otremba.

An Introduction to “Collectivize Facebook”

By Jonas Staal

“Collectivize Facebook” is a lawsuit aimed to turn Facebook into public property, initiated by artist Jonas Staal and lawyer Jan Fermon. Read here Staal’s introduction to the project.

“Manifestos for Queer Futures”

Video Documentation

As part of the festival “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures”, HAU initiated an open call for artists based in Berlin, who were invited to submit proposals for their Manifestos for Queer Futures.