Programme

20.–30.6.2019

The Present Is Not Enough

Performing Queer Histories and Futures

2019 marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall uprising. In 1969 a group of people from New York’s LGBTIQ community took a stand against constant police raids, thereby triggering a new liberation movement and initiating the fight for legal and social rights in the USA. 2019 also marks the 100th anniversary of the Institute for Sexual Research, which was founded by the German theoretician Magnus Hirschfeld. Starting from these two major historical events, HAU Hebbel am Ufer presents an interdisciplinary festival focusing on the notion of queer temporality. The festival analyzes both political and artistic histories as a basis for the outline of future scenarios as well as the active shaping of a queer present.

Which narratives are still missing when we address queer history/histories? With this festival, HAU offers a contribution to the politics of memory by presenting artistic positions from diverse countries which have been underrepresented in mainstream discourse until now.

The present is not enough – as long as people outside of cis and heteronormative structures are still arrested, persecuted and killed. Queerness can be understood as a vision for the future. The time to come will be determined by its people and their actions, which are already showing today the potential for a queer future.

As part of the festival, HAU initiated an open call for artists based in Berlin, who were invited to submit proposals for the Manifestos for Queer Futures. 270 artists replied to the open call, and 26 were selected and will be presented on the stage of HAU2. The spectrum of projects covers a wide range, from works with cultural and socio-political references, active examinations of the past, to visions of a possible future.

The festival includes performances, theatre and dance pieces, concerts, installations, and an exhibition:


THEATRE / DANCE / PERFORMANCE
Manifestos for Queer Futures #1 / Premiere
Manifestos for Queer Futures #2 / Premiere
Manifestos for Queer Futures #3 / Premiere
Michał Borczuch: Untitled (Together Again) / Premiere
Jota Mombaça: Transition and Apocalypse /  Premiere
Mamela Nyamza: Black Privilege
Travis Alabanza & Hackney Showroom: Burgerz / German Premiere
Moved by the Motion (Wu Tsang & boychild with Patrick Belaga, Josh Johnson und Asma Maroof): Sudden Rise / European Premiere
Mehdi-Georges Lahlou: The Ring of the Dove / German Premiere

 
EXHIBITION / INSTALLATION
Jota Mombaça: Transition and Apocalypse
Karol Radziszewski:  Queer Archives Institute / Schwules Museum
Maria Kulikovska: Let me Say: It’s Not Forgotten
Carlos Motta: The Crossing


DIALOGUE
Sara Ahmed: Mind the Gap. Complaint as a Queer Method
Histories of Our Futures. With Josch Hoenes, Ewa Majewska, Omar Kasmani ao. 
 
FILM
Mária Takács: Secret Years 
Mária Takács:  Hot Men Cold Dictatorships /  German Premiere
 

CONCERT
Jam Rostron (aka Planningtorock): Non-binary them – 1972-2019
Light Asylum

Dates

“The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures”. A festival by HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.  

“Manifestos for Queer Futures”. A project by HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Supported within the framework of the Alliance of International Production Houses by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

Spielplan

20.–30.6.2019

The Present Is Not Enough

Performing Queer Histories and Futures

Das Jahr 2019 markiert das 50. Jubiläum des Stonewall-Aufstands: 1969 wehrten sich Mitglieder der New Yorker LGBTIQ-Community gegen ständige Polizeirazzien, entfachten so in den USA eine neue Befreiungsbewegung und setzen einen Kampf für gesetzliche und soziale Rechte in Gang. Gleichzeitig jährt sich 2019 die Gründung des Instituts für Sexualwissenschaft durch den deutschen Theoretiker Magnus Hirschfeld zum 100. Mal. Von diesen zwei bedeutenden historischen Ereignissen ausgehend, präsentiert das HAU Hebbel am Ufer ein interdisziplinäres Festival, das den Blick auf die Idee einer queeren Zeitlichkeit richtet. Das Festival untersucht sowohl politische als auch künstlerische Geschichte als Grundlage für den Entwurf von Zukunftsszenarien und für die aktive Gestaltung einer queeren Gegenwart. 

Welche Narrative fehlen immer noch, wenn wir über queere Geschichte(n) sprechen? Mit dem Festival leistet das HAU einen Beitrag zur Erinnerungspolitik, indem es künstlerische Positionen aus verschiedenen Ländern vorstellt, die bisher im Mainstream nur unzureichend abgebildet wurden.

Die Gegenwart ist nicht genug, solange weiterhin Menschen, die aus dem Raster von cis- und heteronormativen Strukturen fallen, weltweit verhaftet, verfolgt und getötet werden. Queerness kann als Zukunftsvision verstanden werden. Die kommende Zeit ist von Menschen und ihrem Handeln geprägt, in dem sich schon jetzt das Potenzial für eine queere Zukunft zeigt.

Angegliedert an das Festival sind auch die “Manifestos for Queer Futures” zu sehen: Das HAU Hebbel am Ufer rief dafür in Berlin lebende Künstler*innen dazu auf, ihre Manifeste zu einer queeren Zukunftsvision einzureichen. Aus 270 Einsendungen wurden 26 ausgewählt, die nun auf der Bühne des HAU2 präsentiert werden. Die Bandbreite der Projekte ist beachtlich: von Arbeiten mit kulturellen und soziopolitischen Referenzen über aktive Beschäftigungen mit der Vergangenheit bis hin zu Visionen für eine mögliche Zukunft.

Die vielen auf dem Festival gezeigten Arbeiten erkunden Zeit und Raum queere Zeitlichkeit in Form von Performances, Ausstellungen, Installationen und Dokumentarfilmen:


THEATER / TANZ / PERFORMANCE
Manifestos for Queer Futures #1 / Premiere
Manifestos for Queer Futures #2 / Premiere
Manifestos for Queer Futures #3 / Premiere
Michał Borczuch: Untitled (Together Again) / Premiere
Jota Mombaça: Transition and Apocalypse  /  Premiere
Mamela Nyamza: Black Privilege
Travis Alabanza & Hackney Showroom: Burgerz / Deutsche Premiere
Moved by the Motion (Wu Tsang & boychild mit Patrick Belaga, Josh Johnson und Asma Maroof): Sudden Rise / Europäische Premiere
Mehdi-Georges Lahlou: The Ring of the Dove / Deutsche Premiere

 
AUSSTELLUNG / INSTALLATION
Jota Mombaça: Transition and Apocalypse
Karol Radziszewski:  Queer Archives Institute / Schwules Museum
Maria Kulikovska: Let me Say: It’s Not Forgotten
Carlos Motta: The Crossing


DIALOG
Sara Ahmed: Mind the Gap. Complaint as a Queer Method
Histories of Our Futures. Mit Josch Hoenes, Ewa Majewska, Omar Kasmani u.a. 
 
FILM
Mária Takács: Secret Years 
Mária Takács:  Hot Men Cold Dictatorships /  Deutsche Premiere
 

KONZERT
Jam Rostron (aka Planningtorock): Non-binary them – 1972-2019
Light Asylum
 

Termine

“The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures”. Ein Festival des HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes.  

“Manifestos for Queer Futures”. Ein Projekt des HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Gefördert im Rahmen des Bündnisses internationaler Produktionshäuser von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.