Programme

Positions, Projects, Publications

Up-to-date texts, themes and artist’s voices from HAU, about HAU

The 4 lessons Eastern Europe teaches us about tectonic shifts at global LGBT+ frontlines

On occasion of the festival “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures” (20.–30.6. im HAU) we ask: Which narratives are still missing when we address queer history and histories? Maxim Eristavi, an openly queer journalist from Ukraine, observes how LGBTIQ* communities expand safe space locally. At the same time, with regard to all of Eastern Europe he has to state: In the age of globalization, digitalization, worldwide waves of migration and transnational hate movements the suppression of LBGTIQ* lives is becoming more and more complex ...

Read the text

On occasion of the festival “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures” (20.–30.6. im HAU) we ask: Which narratives are still missing when we address queer history and histories? In Jota Mombaça’s journal entries – less a dystopia than a poetic description of the status quo – the hierarchy of the world above and below materializes.

Read the text

The caring gaze of Leviathan, the “pink files” from 1980s Poland, and the issue of privacy.

Before “Hiacynt” the homosexual share of the Polish population was practically invisible to the state. Between 1985 and 1987 extensive police and secret service operations were carried out under this flowery name in order to control the “unknown” share of gay men in the population. Cultural philosopher Ewa Majewska visited the archive and read the files again. In her essay she explains what role the private sphere plays for queers in Poland and what it has to do with state “care”.

Read the text

“An orchestrated delirium”

Thoughts on “Rolling” by Michael Laub

“‘Rolling’ is like an orchestrated delirium. It’s also totally subjective rather than academic”, says Michael Laub about his latest work. The Belgian theatre maker combines around 200 film quotes with video, theatre, dance and music to create a complex personal reflection on the relation between the fields

Read the text

No more excuses!

Interview with Natasha A. Kelly

When we talk about feminism in Germany, the Black perspective and all its achievements are often left out of the conversation, says author, curator, and filmmaker Natasha A. Kelly. That is why her book “Schwarzer Feminismus” [“Black Feminism”] collects a number of fundamental texts by Black feminists. In this interview, Kelly explains why feminism is not conceivable without also taking racism into consideration, and what Black female authors have achieved from the mid 19th century until today.

Like a chain reaction

Isabelle Schad in conversation

The new work “Reflection” by Isabelle Schad will premiere at HAU at the end of May. The choreographer completes her trilogy about collective bodies with this piece. In the interview she speaks about her research on movements and the stages at HAU1 and HAU2.

 

KEEP IT REAL

The writer Luise Meier was commissioned by HAU Hebbel am Ufer to go along with their current film and poster campaign “KEEP IT REAL”.

Read the text

HAU Publication Series

Spielplan

Positionen, Projekte, Publikationen

Aktuelle Texte, Themen und Künstler*innen-Stimmen aus dem HAU, über das HAU

Vier Lektionen, die wir von Osteuropa über tektonische Veränderungen an der globalen LGBTIQ*-Front lernen können

Anlässlich des Festivals “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures” (20.–30.6. im HAU) fragen wir: Welche Narrative fehlen immer noch, wenn wir über queere Geschichte(n) sprechen? Als offen queerer Journalist aus der Ukraine beobachtet Maxim Eristavi, wie sich die LGBTIQ*-Communitys vor Ort einen größeren Safe Space schaffen. Gleichzeitig muss er für ganz Osteuropa konstatieren: Die Unterdrückung von LGBTIQ*-Leben wird in Zeiten von Globalisierung, Digitalisierung, weltweiter Migrationswellen und grenzenüberschreitender Hassbewegungen immer komplexer ...

Text lesen

Anlässlich des Festivals “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures” (20.–30.6. im HAU) fragen wir: Welche Narrative fehlen immer noch, wenn wir über queere Geschichte(n) sprechen? Der Philosoph und Queer-Theoretiker Paul B. Preciado hat eine Antwort: Wir sagen Revolution!

Text lesen

Der fürsorgliche Blick von Leviathans “Pink Files” aus dem Polen der 1980er-Jahre und das Problem mit der Privatsphäre

Vor “Hiacynt” war der homosexuelle Anteil der polnischen Bevölkerung für den Staat nahezu unsichtbar. Unter dem blumigen Namen wurden zwischen 1985 und 1987 umfangreiche Polizei- und Geheimdienstoperationen durchgeführt, um den “unbekannten” Bevölkerungsanteil schwuler Männer zu kontrollieren. Die Kulturwissenschaftlerin Ewa Majewska hat die Archive besucht und die Akten neu gelesen. In ­ihrem Essay erklärt sie, welche Rolle Privatsphäre für Queers in Polen spielt und was sie mit staatlicher “Fürsorge” zu tun hat.

Text lesen

Anlässlich des Festivals “The Present Is Not Enough – Performing Queer Histories and Futures” (20.–30.6. im HAU) fragen wir: Welche Narrative fehlen immer noch, wenn wir über queere Geschichte(n) sprechen? In Jota Mombaças Tagebucheinträgen – weniger Dystopie als vielmehr poetische Beschreibung des Status quo – materialisiert sich die Hierarchie der Welt im Oben und Unten.

Text lesen

“Ein orchestriertes Delirium”

Gedanken zu “Rolling” von Michael Laub

Im Juni feiert die neue Arbeit von Michael Laub am HAU Premiere. Der belgische Theatermacher kombiniert darin rund 200 Filmzitate mit Video, Theater, Tanz und Musik zu einer komplexen persönlichen Reflexion über das Verhältnis der Gattungen. Hier teilt er seine Gedanken zu “Rolling”.

Zum Text

Wie eine Kettenreaktion

Isabelle Schad im Interview

Ende Mai feiert Isabelle Schads neue Arbeit “Reflection” am HAU Premiere. Die Choreografin beschließt mit diesem Stück ihre Trilogie über kollektive Körper. Im Interview spricht sie über ihre Recherchen zu Bewegungen und die Bühnen von HAU1 und HAU2.

Keine Ausreden mehr!

Natasha A. Kelly im Interview

Wenn in Deutschland über Feminismus gesprochen wird, bleibt die Schwarze Perspektive meistens außen vor, sagt die Autorin, Kuratorin und Filmemacherin Natasha A. Kelly. In “Schwarzer Feminismus” hat sie deshalb Grundlagentexte von Schwarzen Feministinnen zusammengestellt. Im Interview erklärt Kelly, warum Feminismus sich nicht ohne Rassismus denken lässt und was Schwarze Autorinnen von der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts bis heute geleistet haben.

HAU-Publikationsreihe